Intellectual Property Policies

Texas Education Code, Chapter 51, Subchapter O instructs Texas higher education institutions to develop and maintain policies on intellectual property.  Higher education institutions seeking grant funding from programs administered by the Coordinating Board must provide a current copy of their intellectual property policies or provide an online link to the policies prior to receiving grant funding.

Intellectual property policies should, at a minimum, include:

  1. disclosure of scientific and technological developments, including invention, discoveries, trade secrets, and computer software;
  2. institutional review of scientific and technological disclosure, including consideration of ownership and appropriate legal protection;
  3. guidelines for licensing scientific and technological developments;
  4. clear identification of ownership and licensing responsibilities for each class of intellectual property;
  5. royalty participation by inventors and the institution; and
  6. equity and management participation on the part of the inventor or inventors in business entities that utilize technology created at the institution of higher education.

Institutions of higher education are required to have an intellectual property policy on file with the Coordinating Board to receive funds under state-run competitive research funding programs.

Contact to update a link or file a new or revised institutional intellectual property policy.

The following links to institutions' or systems' intellectual property policies:

Universities and Health-Related Institutions

Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor University
Huston-Tillotson University
Midwestern State University
Rice University
Southern Methodist University
St. Mary's University
Stephen F. Austin State University
Texas A&M University System
Texas Christian University
Texas Southern University
Texas Tech University System
Texas Woman's University
The University of Texas System
University of Houston System
University of North Texas
University of North Texas at Dallas
University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth
University of North Texas System

Community and Technical Colleges

Alamo Community College District
Alvin Community College
Amarillo College
Angelina College
Austin Community College
Blinn College
Brazosport College
Central Texas College
Cisco College
Clarendon College
Coastal Bend College
College of the Mainland Community College District
Collin County Community College District
Dallas County Community College District
Del Mar College
El Paso Community College District
Frank Phillips College
Galveston College
Grayson College
Hill College
Houston Community College System
Howard County Junior College District
Kilgore College
Laredo Community College
Lee College
Lone Star College System
McLennan Community College
Midland College
Navarro College
North Central Texas College
Northeast Texas Community College
Odessa College
Panola College
Paris Junior College
Ranger College
San Jacinto College District
South Plains College
South Texas College
Southwest Texas Junior College
Tarrant County College District
Temple College
Texarkana College
Texas Southmost College
Texas State Technical College System
Trinity Valley Community College
Tyler Junior College
Vernon College
Victoria College
Weatherford College
Western Texas College
Wharton County Junior College